Gali Gali Sim Sim – Indian Sesame Street

Happy 40th Anniversary Sesame Street !! 

Chamki

Chamki

Gali gali sim sim was a serendipity to me. Once I was crawling through the tv channels at 2:00 pm in order to get a company for lunch at home (food without a company is a curse for me), I saw this programme on POGO channel. I never liked cartoons and animations. But this programme was something different and it was this difference which made me to stick to it. It is aimed at the kids, ready for formal pre school education. But the presentation is so beautiful that I sometimes watch it for the whole 30 minutes. The main characters were CHAMKI – a 5 year old girl, a lion, googly, and few more; now i cannot recall the names. There was an Akshar Kumar who taught one alphabet a day. There were intresting ways of learning shapes, colours, name of fruits and vegetables. And one child from any part of the world was introduced telling about his place of living, where his father/any other member of family works and how they work. It was so fun to watch those intresting explainations from young children.

The song of gali gali sim sim was :  

Kuch to mast baat hai is jagah ki,

gali gali me baat hai is jagah ki,

yaha hai khalbali har cheez manchali,

ticket ho ya na ho, ye gari chal pari….. gali gali sim sim, gali gali sim sim….

Googly wanted to go to space, Chamki being the darling of the show and the Lion ate vegetables. I, then told many people who were having kids, about Gali Gali Sim Sim. And to my surprize none of them had seen the programme before. Now , they are loving it !!

 I had no idea that gali gali sim sim was the indianized version of Sesame street untill i went to sea world ,Goldcoast, Australia; and saw a satge performance of the sesame street characters. The logo on their stage was same as that of the gali gali sim sim. Then I realized the similarity.

These days I’m not watching it but surely will do that with my kid when I’ll go back home. Thanks to the person, the team, behind the idea of spreading the Sesame workshop all over the world. Thanks to  Sesame Workshop international producer Nadine Zylstra. With one out of six children in the world living in India, the potential for positive change is breathtaking. Sesame Workshop hopes many children will benefit from the message Chamki gives, “Stay in school, study, work hard; there isn’t anything you can’t do.”

Once again MANY MANY HAPPY RETURNS OF THE DAY SESAME STREET !!

 

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Israr khan said,

    Hey I am Israr khan studing in 10th ‘A’sec And Iam so happy in my life To see chamki

  2. 3

    Richa said,

    Nice to know about this,as my kiddo is ready for prep. I learned a new word – serendipity. Thanks !

  3. 5

    Nicole said,

    Ok, so she is sis of elmo, right. Another nice post. Looks like I’ll finish all ur posts today itself. LOL

  4. 7

    effelicrerutt said,

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,

  5. 8

    Poonam said,

    Hey !! its coming on pogo at 8:30 in the morning. I like it. It tells about healthy habbits and healthy food in a positive way.

  6. 10

    kathy said,

    you r good @ writing. keep it up


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

