I love my INDIA

“Hum to hain Pardesh mein, Desh mein nikala hoga chaand; apni raat mein chhat par kitna tanha hoga chaand”

This is a Ghazal, sung by  Ghazal maestero Jagjit Singh and is close to my heart. It beautifully tells about the agony of a person who is living far away from his home, his near and dear ones; how he is missing them and how he thinks he is missed by them.

On 15th August I was also feeling the same….. It was our 62th Independence Day. Something inside me was hollow, there was something I was missing…

 What is my contributin to my country??  I kept asking myself.

Since I was born in an independent India, there was no need to fight for freedom. I am blessed that I got freedom since birth. Then, where is my contribution for India?? Thinking deeply I came out with following resolutions, in order to serve my country –

  • I will continue  paying  my bills and taxes honestly and on time.
  • I will try to conserve natural resources as much as possible.
  • I will save electricity as much as I can.
  • I will try to reduce my dependence on plastic/polythene bags.
  • I will try to encourage my friends for minimizing/quitting smoking and drinking – a healthy India will be more safe and secure.
  • I will always respect national property like railways, parks, museums, etc.
  • I will always dispose litter in proper place.
  • Being outside India right now, I will never do anything which could defame my country and fellow indians.

Being a common man these things came to my mind and I’m feeling much relieved now, that I’ve my share of contribution for my country.

Jai Hind !!

  I love my India

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    muralee said,

    Hi,
    I love my India, is written wonderfully. The lines are so straight and from the heart that it touches anyone who reads them straight in the heart. I feel it like honest attempt to be a true Indian. Sure you will not miss the mark. I too wish i too can come up with something like that straight and honest.
    Best Wishes
    Muralee

  2. 3

    Vivek said,

    Hi Bhabi,

    After reading the blog… it reminds me of a song “main Jahaan Rahoon
    Main Kahin Bhi Hoon
    Teri Yaad Saaath Hai” By Javed Akhtar…

    It also reminds me of all the teachings from childhood which was lost in subconsious in all these years.
    Thanks for reigniting the thought of contribution towards the country…

    Bye
    Vivek

  3. 5

    Ken said,

    Impressed. Will see how much I can do.

    Wish you all the best for your effort. Mighty and honest. I might not stop drinking though.

    Ken

  4. 7

    Bill said,

    Great site…keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…

  5. 8

    Palash said,

    Nice post. May we all think like this…..But m sure you will be successful in spreading goodness and love for ur country. God bless you

  6. 9

    Alok said,

    Sorry for my bad english. Thank you so much for your good post. Your post helped me in my college assignment,

  7. 10

    Poonam said,

    I’m touched !!
    how honest are you and your thoughts. may we all think and act like this. jai hind !!

  8. 11

    aishwariya said,

    really cool! i even entered it for my project

  9. 12

    Hari said,

    Love you brother.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

