The Playgroup @ SouthBank, Brisbane (Opening on 8th Feb,2010 for the new session)

Hello Everyone in Brisbane!!

Its February and time to send back your kids to school. OK, but what about the toddlers, infants n pre-schoollers? Well, come to the Southbank Institute of Technlogy Playgroup.

The playgroup has been set up by the Southbank Institute of Technology as a service for the community. It is run by teacher and students, who are studying certificate/diploma in Children’s services, at Southbank Institute of Technology. It is a completely non-profit organization and parents or carers are required to stay with their wards all the time.

The first playgroup sessions this year will start from 8th FEB,2010. There will be no sessions on Tuesdays. Thus, 4 days a week , from 9:30 am to 11:30 am. The full year fees is $35 for a family, $25 for concession card holders and $5 administration. The Playgroup is on level 2 in the HEALTH Sciences building of Southbank Institute of Technology. The bus and train stations of SOUTH BANK are at 2 minute walking distance from the building of Health Sciences. There are only two parking facilities available.

 Music, Singing and dancing,rhymes, play-dough, sand and water play, art n craft, painting, different costumes, kids bowling, rings n balls,story-books and almost all kinds of indoor toys are available to keep your kid busy and help him develop sharing and interact positively. Me n my kid really missed the playgroup during long summer holidays.

The complete address is –

Health Sciences
Southbank Institute of Technology
Level 2, Block B
66 Ernest Street
South Brisbane
Telephone:  3244 5092

All the best dear mums n bubs !!

68 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Siena said,

    What an informative post !! just now I was browsing for the playgroup info for my 1 year old and I found this. Thanks a lot dear !

  2. 3

    Sara said,

    I was waiting for the news. Don’t you have a group pic of ours to post in this post? Looking forward to meet u there…Love, Sara

  3. 5

    Cecilia said,

    Hey !! i got a mail from playgroup, for the same. When r u coming?

  4. 7

    Andy said,

    hi there!! m going bk to Brazil – my mom is not so well n m planning for another kid. Really had a great time at playgroup, it was fun watching our kids playing and growing together..I will miss the place….may be I’ll come back again..who knows what lies in future??
    All my love

    • 8

      rubygem88 said,

      best wishes to ur mom !!
      nice planning.
      Yes, it was a great place n my kid learned n enjoyed a lot there.
      all the best Andy.

  5. 9

    Tuhi said,

    Nice information, gem. Thanks I was looking for a plygroup – I think daycares here are costly and we can’t get much vacancy. It would be a great idea to spend some time with my kid in a new n different environment. Are indians there?

    • 10

      rubygem88 said,

      I have no idea about day cares fees – One is at Cribb’s street (near coronation drive n toowong area) and another one is at Ann street (ABC, i guess).
      Regarding playgroup – yes, there are pretty much indians – infact everywhere in BNE, n its totally safe n secure. All the best.

  6. 11

    Payal said,

    Cool info !! thanks.
    Can u plz tell about few good n safe places to visit with kids? I’m new to brisbane.

    • 12

      rubygem88 said,

      Hi Payal !! First of all, plz be confident and feel safe here, there is no need to worry at all.
      With kids u can go to southbank play area, roma street parklands, southbank museum n art gallery n library, brisbane square library – queen street n ofcourse to the playgroup. Just avoid going out alone in the dark. Use trains n buses – they are pretty safe.

      • 13

        Payal said,

        Thanks a lot, Gem. You have really solved a huge problem of mine. Most of the ppl in my hubby’s gp r bachleor, so I was really worried about my stay in BNE. Now I’m much relieved. God bless you !!

  7. 14

    Udita said,

    Hey !! is it near south bank play area? I’m new in BNE n having twins of 2 yrs n 2 months. Is it safe to go there alone with kids? I live near central. Plz help, thank.

    • 15

      rubygem88 said,

      Yes, its near the southbank play area. U catch the train from central, going towards south n stop @ south bank station (central – roma street station – south brisbane – south bank). Ask anyone about the SIT and health sciences building. Or call at the number given in post. And its absolutely safe to roam around with your kids. People are friendly here.

  8. 16

    Srilakshami said,

    Thanks for the info, gem. I was a bit confused, but after going thru comments, I’m surely going to visit.

  9. 17

    Lee said,

    Hey, its a really nice place to visit. I loved talking with students n their friendly behaviour. Hope I will have a nice time in playgroup. Thanks Gem !!

  10. 18

    saasha said,

    I just came to know about this play group..sounds interesting!! i understand the session started on 8th feb, can we join the group now? my kid is 2 yrs and 2 months

    • 19

      rubygem88 said,

      oh sure dear, you can contact the playgroup, ask them about the vacancies and then you can join. All the best !!

  11. 20

    Poonam said,

    By going thru ur replies I guess you enjoyed Australia. IS that really a wonderful place?

  12. 22

    Yukta Rai said,

    Hi there, thanks for the info!

  13. 23

    deepti said,

    hi, do you have any idea when the playgroup opens in this new year.. thanks

    • 24

      rubygem88 said,

      Hi Deepti !!
      Normally they open in first week of february. You can contact them thru the phone number. Or give a visit to the institute of technology. You can catch a train for SOUTHBANK Station and the institute is @ walking distance. The playgroup is in Health Sciences building. go and ask someone n they will help you. Good luck !

  14. 25

    Bindu said,

    Hello !!
    Do you know Brisbane was under flood?? Still fighting with the aftermath…

    • 26

      rubygem88 said,

      Yes Bindu !! I talked to my friends who are there. It was sad to the place under flood. Such a beautiful place and suddenly a havoc occured. Infact we made some donation thru ANZ.

  15. 27

    Aasif said,

    hum kal gaye waha par aapki post padne ke baad. Hamare bacchon ko jagah pasand aayi. Shukriya !

  16. 28

    Pretty very good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have incredibly enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I am going to be subscribing for ones feed and I hope you post once again soon.

  17. 29

    binu said,

    Wow, fantastic blog! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is magnificent, let alone the content!

  18. 30

    Ebby_lehman said,

    i m impressed by the accuracy of the information. u r doing good for humanity.

  19. 31

    Isabell Taton said,

    Hello there, Are you going to be publishing a follow up piece? My husband and me have squandered some time browsing over your web page and surprisingly enough you touched on some thing we were discussing only the other week with our accountant. We frequently notice ourselves quarrelling over the smallest of problems, isn’t it childish? At any rate we wish you best wishes from the Usa.

  20. 32

    Melina Meder said,

    I just wanted to throw you a big thanks – you cleared up some things for me!

  21. 34

    Deja Luhring said,

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  22. 35

    Lewis Marid said,

    Thanks for the info, mate. ta

  23. 36

    Julee Mcguirk said,

    You guys should invest alot of time working on this blog. im impressed

  24. 37

    Chalecos Antibalas said,

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  25. 38

    brian said,

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  26. 39

    Shampa said,

    … very helpful topic…

  27. 41

    sammy said,

    Hey – good article, simply looking round some weblogs, appears a reasonably nice platform you’re on. I’m currently using WordPress for a couple of of my websites however looking to change considered one of them over to a platform very much identical to yours. Something specifically you’d suggest?

  28. 43

    Sammy Pelley said,

    I am glad that I found this information. I am the case of someone that loves to be inspired. Whether it be with regards to domicile life or business. This blog has some very nice posts and your posts inspire me to be productive and has given me ideas to movement forward.

  29. 45

    Rebeca said,

    I think this is among the most vital information for me. And i am glad reading your article.Good job, cheers.

  30. 47

    Sherice Haddenham said,

    Solid post, nice work. It Couldn’t be written any improved. Reading this post reminds me of my previous boss! He usually kept babbling about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty certain he will have a superb read. Thanks for sharing!

  31. 49

    Lavenia said,

    hi, solid web log, just I don’t see how to add your website in my rss reader. Could u Assist me please?

  32. 50

    Seema said,

    Authentic Information. Thanks a ton.

  33. 52

    Neelu said,

    This really answered my problem, thanks!

  34. 53

    lewis w d said,

    I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, thankyou for all the great content .

  35. 54

    Quraishi said,

    Keep working, nice post! Exactly the info I needed to know.

  36. 56

    iyaan said,

    Nice Blog with Excellent information

  37. 57

    Ryan said,

    My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  38. 58

    Allen said,

    Maintain up the great work mate. This website article shows how well you comprehend and know this subject.

  39. 60

    Lauretta Scuderi said,

    Just wondering what age group attends the playgroup. I have a 4year old granddaughter that I would love to bring to the Playgroup on a Thursday. We are looking for somewhere to go regularly so she may make new friends her own age.

  40. 62

    Clyde said,

    Thanks for sharing. Great info.

  41. 63

    Tyson said,

    I simply want to tell you that I’m beginner to weblog and absolutely liked your web blog. You certainly come with good well written articles. Thanks for sharing with us your web page.

  42. 64

    It’s hard to find experienced people about this topic, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  43. 65

    Marlyn said,

    Gret info, Is the playgroup open in January?

  44. 67

    sims 4 said,

    Attractive component of content. I simply stumbled upon
    your website and in accession capital to say that I acquire actually enjoyed account
    your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing on your feeds and even I success you access constantly
    fast.

  45. 68

    Dennis Grainger said,

    How about Dads ?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

